Letters from an unpaid writer

From the article Letters to Tehelka from an unpaid writer:

I suppose I am a fool, by Tehelka’s standards anyway, to have written for you again. There are two mitigating factors: I didn’t think an organisation which preaches propriety and ethics to the nation could behave so unethically; and I didn’t think Tehelka would treat a fellow-professional so shabbily.

Yes, I know you’ve gone through hard times, but you always had a support group to fall back on. I’m a freelancer. When my father was in hospital late last year and Shoma wasn’t answering my e-mails I had no such support group and I needed money. But why do I need an excuse like that to get what is my due?

If you’ve ever followed up for payments, you’ll feel his pain. (Via The Hoot)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “Letters from an unpaid writer

  1. Great post Percy.
    You can almost hear the frustration in his words.
    A pity that a paper like Tehelka would put a writer through so much agony after using his writings.
    Alls well in the world of Indian journalism!!

  2. He’s actually a well-known journalist and was on a panel for a Writer’s festival that was held in Bangalore. I’d seen him there and I’ve read a couple of his articles. It’s hard being a freelancer in India I guess.

Your thoughts?

