Ten questions for the Gmail team

  1. Why is Gmail still in Beta? You’re rolling out new services, you’re acquiring companies, and you’re still in Beta with Gmail? What’s the deal?
  2. Why did you create a Delete button this late in the game? It took me two weeks to get used to the move from the ‘Move to Trash’ drop-down option to the button.
  3. Why is the ‘Move to Trash’ drop-down option still available in the basic HTML view of Gmail? Is this option a step-child?
  4. I’m still on the deleting thing. How come you have a Delete button? I’m only asking because the Gmail sign-in page says:

    Don’t throw anything away.
    Over 2699.375736 megabytes (and counting) of free storage so you’ll never need to delete another message.

  5. Why did you turn on the Chat feature on my email without asking me? And, worse still, allowed people to contact me without asking me? It’s not you, it’s me–I don’t like chatting all that much.
  6. Why did you slip in the standard without chat option in the Gmail view at the bottom of the page, so it’s hard to notice? I have turned off the chat option now, by the way.
  7. I can display a maximum of 100 messages conversations per page when I view my email. Why do you display a maximum of only 20 conversations when I do a search?
  8. And, why can’t I sort my email messages? The search feature is fast and brilliant, but some of us are old fashioned and like to sort messages. Sorting is useful sometimes, you know.
  9. Who came up with the whole Conversations idea?
  10. It’s Google Talk, Gmail, but Gmail chat. Shouldn’t it be GChat or Google Chat?

Oh, let that last one go, and here’s an alternate question instead: How many Gmail engineers does it take to turn on a lightbulb?

2 thoughts on “Ten questions for the Gmail team

  1. Some more questions
    1- Why don’t you show the messages size, and allow me to sort them by their size ?
    2- It’s google, however I cannot SEARCH for people on Google Talk (i.e. find new buddies like ICQ) ?
    3- Why shall people be invited in order to join Gmail, Orkut etc, why can’t they simply sign up for the service ?

  2. Note for the Gmail team

    1) Question 8 and question 1 (from gr33ndata) can be answered together.

    2) Question 1 and question 3 (from gr33ndata) can also be answered together, but feel free to answer separately.

    3) I don’t use Google Talk, so please add question 2 (from gr33ndata) to the list of questions to answer.

    Danke.

Your thoughts?

