Blink (Aye) for the Sports Guy

Malcolm Gladwell writes on his blog: ‘Bill Simmons, who writes the Sports Guy column for ESPN.com is, to my mind, far and away the best sportswriter in America. If you’re a sports fan and you don’t read Simmons, shame on you. From time to time he does a feature called Curious Guy, where he emails with someone who he thinks might be interesting. He did Chuck Klosterman not long ago, for instance, which is well worth looking up. Well, now he’s done me. Part one is up today. Part two is up tomorrow.’

Read Curious Guy: Malcolm Gladwell ; it’s a terrific interview. Here’s a part of the first ‘question’:

When I started reading you back in the mid-’90s, I remember being discouraged because you made writing seem so easy — technically, you were almost flawless, and since I knew I couldn’t write that well, you were one of those visible writers who made me feel like I was going to be bartending my whole life. You never waste a word. You come up with cool arguments and angles for your pieces, then you systematically prove/dismantle those same arguments and angles, and you do it in an entertaining, thoughtful, logical way. You never allow your biases to get in the way. You’re better at writing than me in every way. Basically, I hate you.

So I always thought to myself, “Well, maybe he kicks my ass as a writer, but I guarantee he’s a huge dork who knows nothing about sports and couldn’t talk to a girl to save his life.”

Your thoughts?

