Breaking the silence on street harassment

Neha writes:

When I was twelve, somebody leaned over and said – don’t attract attention to yourself. That’s what I have been doing all my life. When I leave my home, I clutch my belongings, adjust my clothes and will myself to be invisible. I occupy the tiniest strip of space. I am constantly moving sidewards to let men walk by, because I know they will most definitely “accidentally brush”. …

I don’t want to be protected by a man. No man needs to feel responsible for me. I don’t want a man to spew venom on my behalf. I don’t want to be left alone because I am someone’s wife, sister, daughter. I don’t want to hide in “Ladies-Only” compartments. I want to look at a city’s buildings and take photographs, without dodging a biker’s hands. I don’t want to be afraid to go into a Police Station. I want to be able to go for a walk without swallowing my fear by the minute.

Read Breaking the silence – Blank Noise Project and the next time you witness street harassment, speak out.

Your thoughts?

