Google desktop problem

From TechCrunch: “The Mercury News points out a fairly basic flaw in Google’s Desktop Search application: it cannot track files if you move them around on your hard drive (changing folders, moving folders, etc.). The application will index new files added to the computer, but it doesn’t notice when an already-indexed file is moved to a different folder.”

Read Google Desktop Embarrassement .

One thought on “Google desktop problem

  1. Hmm. So that was the culprit! The search was fast, the application was easy to use. But whenever I moved my mails around (which I keep doing, a lot) I used to get results, but whenever I clicked on the mail to open it, I never got it!

Your thoughts?

