WordPress server error message

This morning I tried accessing WordPress and I consistently got an error message from the server. The error message, which I am reproducing verbatim apart from the emphasis, was this:

Confessions Of A Server

OH MY! Life is so unfair! What did I do wrong to be born a server in this day and age? I could have been a nice simple bicycle that people happily rode around on all day. But no, I’m stuck inside this metal case serving web pages instead. I never even see the light of day and all I can hear is the rush of the air-conditioning!
Well, no more! I’m relaxing here with a cup of tea and a biscuit until someone shows me some love and attention.

It never takes them long to fix me when I kick up a fuss so check back in a few minutes and I’ll be chugging along merrily again.!

Signed,
The WordPress.com web server
(WordPress.com – where even the machines have life!)”

The first time I read the message, I smiled. I tried again later, but I got the same error message but I didn’t really feel all that upset. I found the concept refreshing and it’s certainly better than a ‘404 error’ or ‘Server error’ or whatever else.

And it’s not just about the humour though that helps. It’s about understanding that there’s a human being that your server is interacting with, even if it is through a browser and a lot of wires.

Maybe that’s why there’s a field called Human Computer Interaction .

One thought on “WordPress server error message

Your thoughts?

