Walk The Line

This movie has songs, a lot of them. Somewhere in the middle of the movie a thought ran across my head (that’s what thoughts do): Is this like the Hollywood equivalent of Hum Aapke Hain Kaun (HAHK)? Not a good comparison because I’ve never watched HAHK.

Walk the Line is a fine movie. If you were exploring underwater for the last year or so, the movie’s about Johnny Cash, the legendary singer. Cash is played by Joaquin “Two Nominations No Oscars Yet” Phoenix and the actor brings out the character’s strengths and flaws in a way that you empathise with the singer.

Reese “I Can’t Believe I Won An Oscar” Witherspoon plays June Carter, the woman who Johnny Cash is in love with. She gives a good performance but apart from the accent and some good scenes, you have to wonder whether it’s an Oscar-worthy performance.

I love Reese Witherspoon but her performance didn’t have the “wow factor”. I haven’t watched Transamerica, so I can’t say if Felicity Huffman was better, but that certainly appears to be the more challenging role. Oh well, like what I think about this really matters. Ginnifer Goodwin, who plays Cash’s first wife, also had a nice acting performance.

What you have to admire about the lead actors though is that they sang their own vocals for the movie. Phoenix, in particular, was impressive and after the movie, I was thinking about buying the soundtrack. Yeah, he sang that well.

Overall, I liked the movie but I thought that it dragged a wee bit here and there. It’s tough to make biopics though, so you’ve got to give the director (and the script writer) credits for pulling it off.

If you’re into music or biographies, you’ll want to catch this one.

2 thoughts on “Walk The Line

  1. I love this movie! I haven’t read the book, but I was very impressed by the realism in this story and film. I didn’t know that they sang their own songs–they were lovely! I bought the DVD of this movie recently, and keep singing the title song’s “Because you’re mine, I walk the line” in that deep voice he sings in :) I think I can study this movie and learn from it about story telling, especially characters (though naturally these are based on real people, so they’re realistic), scenes, etc. One of my fav movies.

Your thoughts?

