First Frey, Now Viswanathan

Effusive praise. Rave reviews. Touted as the next big literary find.

Then, splat.

Now, everyone’s gunning for Kaavya Viswanathan (KV), seems the media likes a good fall. I’ll bet that people will start distancing themselves from KV now.

And the publicity. I’d heard of KV but I’d never heard of Megan McCafferty but now even she’s famous. Talk about two birds.

Yesterday, I was going to post a link about the whole saga. It’s good that I didn’t add to the mess, because I now feel sorry for KV, just like I felt sorry for Frey, much later.

It’s time to take a look at the hype machine in the publishing industry. Huge advances = pressure. The fact that there’s so much press coverage and publicity for authors now-a-days, it makes it worse. I’m not sure that many people could handle the pressure, let alone at such a young age.

I’m not condoning her actions or crucifying her for them, I’m just wondering why she has to be taken to the top of Everest and then dropped from there.

I know the publishing industry will survive; let’s hope she does too.

PS: John Scalzi has a nice take on the whole matter on his blog (Whatever).

2 thoughts on “First Frey, Now Viswanathan

  1. I’m doing the opposite. I’m really trying to feel sorry for this girl, but I can’t. Pressure or no pressure, you don’t copy other people’s work and pass it off as your own. Weren’t we talk that in, what, fourth grade?

  2. Like I mentioned, I don’t condone what she did. What I’m asking for is some amount of sanity in the hype that was present before and moderation in the excoriating that she’s getting now.

Your thoughts?

