Cutting down on reading blogs

I used to read quite a few blogs back in the day. If I didn’t access my Bloglines account for a few days and then logged in, they’d pile up and stare at me saying, “Read, read…” Okay, so those are just voices I hear in my head.

Then I got tired of reading the same stuff or the stuff that I didn’t care about enough. I started cutting down on the blogs that I read. One or two initially. I thought I’d miss the blogs, but no, I didn’t even notice that they were gone.

Then I cut out some more. Same story. Don’t miss them at all. My world’s quite good thank you very much. And, I only read the stuff that I really want to read. Do I indulge? Sure, but it’s an ice-cream a blog here or there.

I also discovered that I can set my Bloglines to display only updated blogs, so that trims down the blogs that I see everyday. It helps me, it might help you.

I’ve also stopped keeping the Bloglines tab open forever. Once I read for the day, I log out and close the tab. Sometimes I read twice a day but I don’t linger and keep the tab open just because I’m on the computer. Again, minimal withdrawal symptoms, a few pangs here and there. They’ll go away.

I’m getting time back, so that makes it worth my while.

4 thoughts on “Cutting down on reading blogs

  1. Hmm. I know what you are talking about. I’ve been unable to check on a lot of blogs that I used to frequent before… Apparently, time is of the esssence. :-)

  2. Hi,
    I had the same problem..but fixed it by configuring Plucker to send the channels to my Palm tungsten T3 whenever I sync. Then, I can read the “news” on the go…

    By the way, I added you to my Plucker list =).
    Best regards
    Tam Hanna

Your thoughts?

