Old Man’s War

The only reason I bought this book is because I enjoy John Scalzi’s blog Whatever . I’m not a regular science fiction reader but having read Whatever, I was curious to find out how the book would be.

I enjoyed reading Old Man’s War because it is a well-paced and an interesting book. There’s always something going on to keep you interested and you never feel your interest sagging. The story is mainly about John Perry, a widower, who joins the Colonial Defence Forces (CDF), at the (young) age of seventy five. (The CDF fights alien races for inter-planetary real estate and defends what’s already theirs.) The rest of the book follows Perry’s journey into the army while delving into his still-strong feelings for his dead wife and chronicles the surprises that await him in space.

Old Man’s War (OMW) is an entertaining read and when the book’s nearing its end, I wished that I had the next book in the series (The Ghost Brigades) ready so I could devour that. It probably explains why Scalzi won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

Go pick up OMW if you’re looking for an entertaining book to read. I didn’t see the book in Indian bookstores though, so you’ll have to look online if you’re in my part of the world.

2 thoughts on “Old Man’s War

  1. OMW was my choice for the Hugo Award (out of the candidates I’ve read). The Ghost Brigades is (IMO) not quite as strong, but still highlights the fact that Scalzi is a very good fresh writer. Agent to the Stars, the book he first published online and then managed to snag a print contract for, is quite humorous and inventive. And I enjoy his posts over on Whatever too.

  2. I didn’t vote for the Hugos because I hadn’t read any of the other books and I didn’t think it would’ve been fair. I guess I’ll have to wait to read The Ghost Brigades. I think Agent to the Stars is available online, so maybe I’ll download it sometime.

Your thoughts?

