A Walk In The Woods

For many visits to the bookstore, I’d look at Bill Bryson’s books displayed at the eye-catcher sections and wonder about buying one. Then, I’d see the price (usually something in pounds) and cheapskate that I am I’d back away. That, and I’d have other books to buy.

I can’t remember when I decided to pick up Bryson book but I’m glad I finally did. ‘A Walk In The Woods’ is about Bryson’s experiences on the Appalachian trail. His friend Stephen Katz joins him in what must be one of the most entertaining journeys ever, probably because Katz makes it that way.

Bryson’s sense of humour, his ability to provide dollops of information about (in this book) trees/forests, and his enthusiasm for traveling make this book a wonderful read. In particular, one section where a female hiker, who’s not the sharpest knife in the drawer, joins them is funny, in laugh out loud kind of way.

Bryson’s a natural at telling stories and getting laughs and if you’ve never read any of his books, this one’s a good one to start with. You’ll want to hike the Appalachian trail after you’re done reading the book. If you’re anything like me though, you’ll go back to the couch the next day.

Or the computer.

2 thoughts on “A Walk In The Woods

  1. i’ve been looking for bopoks on Appalachian trail for quite some time. i dint know abt this book, thanks for the info. will pick up a copy soon (well, i wont if i can borrow the book frm u ;-))

Your thoughts?

