The festival of sound and light

It’s that time of the year again when my eardrums are subject to loud sounds of varying decibels, some close, some far, all intrusive. There are lights too but the sounds dominate because I’m mostly inside. I like seeing the oil lamps (diyas) being lit and placed outside the house, in the night.

I used to be a part of the celebrations a long time back but now I prefer to stay indoors and breathe the recycled, but not air-conditioned, air. The smoke doesn’t endear itself, the sounds are too loud for me to enjoy the light part of the festival.

I loved watching the 4th of July fireworks in the US, but those were mostly lights and colours and synchronized stuff that took your breath away in a metaphorical way. Here, it’s more literal.

I know that enough has been said about the sounds, the hazards of firecrackers, the pollution, etc., but I still wanted to say something, so there I said it.

That said, I don’t begrudge people their Diwali but I do wish it’d be quieter, with more lights and less sound. Kids love the festival, the love the sounds, so what the heck, I can stay inside for a day or two in a year.

Enjoy the festival, the clothes, the food, and the lights and sounds. And, be safe.

Happy Diwali.

Your thoughts?

