Eragon

Fifty pages through Eragon, my sister told me that the author, Christopher Paolini, was 15 when he started writing the book. Fifteen; inside, I’m still screaming.

Eragon is a fantasy novel about a boy who finds a polished blue stone by accident, when he’s hunting for food in the forest. He doesn’t realise that he’s found a dragon egg, till the dragon decides to come out of its shell. From then, begins the tale of Eragon’s transformation from a boy to a Rider, with the help of an old storyteller (or is he?) Brom.

The book is filled with action and mystery and is fun to read. There are Elves, Dwarves, humans, a dragon, magic, the Ra’zac, and the Empire, ruled by the evil and powerful Galbatorix. Forget the fact that the author was a teenager when he wrote the book–the story is gripping, the pace keeps you hooked, and the story is set up nicely.

Eragon is the first book of the Inheritance trilogy and the second one, The Eldest, has also been published. We’re waiting for book three to hit the shelves. Come on Chris, write that novel quickly.

The only reason I picked up Eragon was because my sister enjoyed it so much, I was intrigued by the book. I’m glad I picked it up and read it because a few days later, I finished the second book in the trilogy as well. More on that later.

I’m not a regular reader of fantasy fiction but this book is fun to read, so who cares about the genre. A good story is a good story.

And, did I mention the author was fifteen when he started the book?

—–
Updated on 25-Jan-2007 to correct the spelling of Eragon. It’s not Eragorn like I wrote earlier. I’m getting corrective brain surgery tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Eragon

  1. Well, I didn’t wait for it to hit theatres in Hyd; figured I might never get to see it if I did. Download ahoy! :)

Your thoughts?

