Zen in the art of writing

Ray Bradbury’s writing jumps off the page at you and makes you want to write. This should tell you the extent of my procrastination problem since I’d read this book a few years ago. See?

Zen in the art of writing is a series of essays about writing by Ray Bradbury. For such a small book, it packs quite a power punch. The essays are mainly about writing fiction and short stories but if you’re looking for tips on writing and motivation to write, this is a good book to pick up. Here’s something that I particularly like:

And now: I have come up with a new simile to describe myself lately. It can be yours.
Every morning I jump out of bed and step on a landmine. That landmine is me.
After the explosion, I spent the rest of the day putting the pieces together.
Now, it’s your turn. Jump!

Bradbury’s style of writing and his experience, which he shares, is why this book works. Two more quotes from the book before I stop:

Second, writing is survival. Any art, any good work, of course, is that. Not to write, for many of us, is to die.

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.

Now, if you excuse me, I need a drink.

PS: I’m one of those heathen peoples who has not read Farenheit 451 (see first paragraph of this post). I plan to because I enjoyed Bradbury’s writing style in this book, but plans sometimes take time to execute.

4 thoughts on “Zen in the art of writing

  1. Your description of the book ‘Zen in the Art of Writing’ makes me want to read it though am not a writer.

    I also wish you an ‘explosive’ and ‘drunken’ journey as you jump onto the ‘landmine’ of your creative world :)

  2. “I also wish you an ‘explosive’ and ‘drunken’ journey as you jump onto the ‘landmine’ of your creative world”

    Thanks, maybe you should try this creative thing yourself.

  3. Thanks for reminding me of that line on being drunk on writing to not let reality affect us. Very inspiring book, this. I haven’t read Fahrenheit either. I recently gave away Dandelion Wine, a pretty book, very Bradbury, but too much of his style to enjoy continuously.

  4. I love that Ray Bradbury book–in fact I love most of his books. Zen always makes me more daring in my writing.

    I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog today. I’m off to write something bold and daring.

Your thoughts?

