Lifehacker’s remedies for stopping distractions

Lifehacker has a nice list of distraction stoppers. Sorry, where was I again? Check out Top 10 Distraction Stoppers to get some ideas on how to focus on the task at hand.

One of the major distractions for me used to be the automatic loading of messenger clients, which I stopped. Of course, I was never a big chat person but even one chat could sometimes be so draining. And, back when I used Outlook Express (and Outlook), I closed the window after checking email, so I wouldn’t feel the need to check email every 30 seconds. Checking email every couple of hours instead of minutes is much less distracting.

This has enabled me to spend my time much more productively–reading blogs and visiting many websites. I have 16 tabs open in Opera as we speak. Ah, the wonders of technology.

2 thoughts on “Lifehacker’s remedies for stopping distractions

  1. No, not kidding. I can’t remember the last time I chatted. I presume that you are surprised by my non-chat personality. Oh, and non-social network personality as well. Yes, we cave-people do exist.

Your thoughts?

