What’s the first book you remember reading?

I was just thinking about whether I could remember the first book that I ever read. I remember that we used to have a small story book that my Dad would read to us but that wasn’t a book that I read by myself.

The earliest I can remember now are the books of Enid Blyton’s Five Find-Outer series. I liked them better than Famous Five which seemed to be everyone’s favourite at the time. I remember reading the Secret Seven books as well but I can’t be sure if I read them before the Five Find-Outers. It seems so long ago now but I still remember how those books were such wonderful treats for a child.

What’s the first book you remember reading?

PS: Speaking of Enid Blyton, there was a delicious article in The Guardian about how she got her revenge on her ex-husband:

While McClaren argues the novelist’s imaginative powers and wit have been vastly under-rated, he has also found evidence one of her silliest characters, the bumbling local policeman of Peterswood in the highly successful Mystery books, was, in fact, a prolonged and sometimes cruel joke at the expense of her first husband, Major Hugh Pollock.

It’s worth a read if you were an Enid Blyton fan.

5 thoughts on “What’s the first book you remember reading?

  1. first book i remeber reading is a kannada weekly magazine called Taranga. later on i started reading kannada novels too. one funny memory i have about those days is hiding books inside text books and reading them instead of reading text books, as parents wudn’t allow reading other books during exam-time!

Your thoughts?

