A Mighty Heart

I watched this movie a couple of weeks ago but I couldn’t find time to write a review. A Mighty Heart is a movie about Daniel Pearl’s abduction and killing in Pakistan, when he was reporting there for The Wall Street Journal. The movie gives us a glimpse into the days before and after Daniel Pearl’s abduction, up to the news of his death.

Angelina Jolie plays Mariane Pearl and though I can’t fault her performance, I feel that a not-so-high-profile actress would’ve been a better choice. Somehow Jolie’s star power works against her in this role. Thandie Newton is one actress who comes to mind. Oh well.

I found the documentary-like feel of the movie disturbing partly because I knew what would happen (and that it was real), and partly because the effect of the way the movie was presented. Maybe that’s what the director intended to do.

I’m conflicted about what to say about the movie, so I’ll just leave it at that.

One thought on “A Mighty Heart

  1. I agree with you that ‘A Mighty Heart’ is a tough movie to watch as we know its the true heart wrenching story of Daniel and Marianne Pearl.

    However its one of those ‘hard to watch but must watch’ movies as in the end it depicts the truimph of the human spirit.

Your thoughts?

