Beep beep, beep beep

My APC UPS, which I wrote about here, has been spewing auditory invectives at me over the last couple of days. Okay, so it’s not spewing invectives, but the effect is irritating just the same.

Every three or four seconds, the UPS goes ‘beep beep’ to indicate that the battery is low. The APC manual tells me that the battery is low but it’s not close to running out so I don’t really have to replace the battery. Even if I had to replace the battery, what is the need to use methods of torture (feels like water torture) to remind me every few seconds? Plus, there is no need for this kind of feedback every few seconds. Even when the UPS is running on battery, the beeps aren’t this frequent.

The sounds is obtrusive; it’s loud enough that even if I play loud music, I can still hear the annoying beep beep. If I shut the door to the room, where the UPS is, I can still hear it in another room. The effect of all this is to make me want to take the UPS, which is heavy, and bang it on the head of someone at APC. Or lock all the designers in a room, for a few hours, with a few beeping UPSes.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need a break from all this beeping.

Your thoughts?

