Goodbye Netscape

Netscape was the browser that first connected me to the wonderful world of the Internet, so there was a slight twinge of sadness when I read RIP: Netscape browser, 13:

Netscape Navigator, the world’s first commercial Web browser and the launch pad of the Internet boom, will be pulled off life support Feb. 1 after a 13-year run.

Its current caretakers, Time Warner Inc.’s AOL, decided to kill further development and technical support to focus on growing the company as an advertising business. Netscape’s usage dwindled with Microsoft Corp.’s entry into the browser business, and Netscape all but faded away following the birth of its open-source cousin, Firefox

Of course, this is not surprising considering how Netscape had fallen off the radar despite attempts to revive it. I used Netscape for several years (starting in 1996) and even when IE was all over the place, I somehow preferred using Netscape. Heck, I used Netscape for checking email, for reading newsgroups, in addition to surfing the Web. Good times but they’re long gone.

Just like the Netscape I remember. Rest in Peace.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Netscape

  1. Aaah.. This is sad indeed. If I recollect correctly, I used Netscape the first time I surfed the net, in 1996. I stopped using Netscape after Firefox came into existence.

    RIP, Netscape. And to the Netscape team, Thank you for all the wonderful work.

Your thoughts?

