J. K. Rowling’s speech at Harvard

I’ve linked to this already (see right hand side of blog) but I thought it was worth blogging about it since some of you may not be clicking on the links that I pick out so painstakingly.

Here’s the link to the video and transcript of the speech which is worth listening to or reading, whichever poison you like better. An excerpt:

Now, I am not going to stand here and tell you that failure is fun. That period of my life was a dark one, and I had no idea that there was going to be what the press has since represented as a kind of fairy tale resolution. I had no idea how far the tunnel extended, and for a long time, any light at the end of it was a hope rather than a reality.

So why do I talk about the benefits of failure? Simply because failure meant a stripping away of the inessential. I stopped pretending to myself that I was anything other than what I was, and began to direct all my energy into finishing the only work that mattered to me. Had I really succeeded at anything else, I might never have found the determination to succeed in the one arena I believed I truly belonged.

It really is worth reading the whole piece though, so go read.

One thought on “J. K. Rowling’s speech at Harvard

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "speech"

Your thoughts?

