Hancock

A superhero who has an alcohol problem is an unlikely premise for a story and that’s what Hancock has going for it from the start. Hancock, played by Will Smith, is a superhero who fights crime in LA but is mostly hated by the people there because of his tendency to, shall we say, break things. Hancock ends up saving a publicist Ray (Michael Bateman) who invites Hancock over to dinner.

Ray’s wife Mary (Charlize Theron) isn’t thrilled that her husband has invited Hancock over to their house but their son loves Hancock. Mary is also uncomfortable that Ray wants to help improve Hancock’s image and give it a makeover. If I tell you more, you’ll kill me.

Directed by Peter Berg, Hancock’s an entertaining movie in an unexpected sort of way. (What I mean by that is that I didn’t know much about the story before I watched the movie, so I wasn’t sure that I would enjoy it, but I did.) The movie has plenty of funny moments and a couple of gross ones as well. The action scenes are done well, as pretty much all Hollwood big-budget movies are now-a-days. Will Smith is Smith-esque but Michael Bateman gives you a sense of deja vu because he seems to play similar characters. Charlize Theron is perfectly cast and manages to hold her own against Smith. (Disclosure: I just realised that I’m a fan of Charlize Theron.)

An aside about Charlize Theron. I read somewhere that Ms. Rai-Bachchan was the original choice for Mary’s role but she couldn’t give Mr. Smith the dates. I don’t think Ms. Rai would have been a good choice. While we can argue about who’s more beautiful (eye of the beholder and that sort of thing), there’s no arguing that Ms. Theron is way ahead of Ms. R-B in the acting front. Theron is a superior actress who can give acting lessons to other actors/actresses. So, please Will, cast Ms. R-B if you must but keep her role limited to the eye candy section. I’ll get down from my soapbox pedestal now.

Watch Hancock if you like fantasy/superhero stuff, or Will Smith.

Your thoughts?

