Dogma

I can’t remember why I wanted to watch Dogma, but it’d been on my to-watch list for the longest time. I suspect it’s because of a friend who told me that the movie was worth watching but never mind. I also had a vague idea of what Dogma was about but did not expect what the movie turned out to be.

Dogma’s essentially a satire on Christianity, more so on Catholicism, taking off on everything from angels, to God, to the prophets, to priests, and so on. The basic plot is that there are a couple of “fallen” angels who want to get back to heaven but in doing so will risk sending everything and everyone to kingdom-come. So, they must be stopped and that job falls to the Bethany, who works at an abortion clinic. She’s kinda lost her faith but still goes to church on Sundays. How she is recruited, the help she gets along the way, and the final showdown form the meat of the movie.

Dogma has its funny moments but it’s also has its weird moments and is really a strange kind of movie. It does make a couple of interesting observations about faith and about religion but I felt that people who don’t know the finer aspects of Christianity would find the movie hard to follow. I don’t know what to make of the movie, I neither disliked it nor liked it but thinking back about the movie now, some of the satire was pretty funny.

Written and directed by Kevin Smith, Dogma’s cast includes Ben Affleck, Matt Damon, Linda Fiorentino, Salma Hayek, Chris Rock, Jason “my name is Earl” Lee, and Alan Rickman (who’s superb as the angel Metatron).

Your thoughts?

