Where in the world is Osama Bin Laden?

I read Morgan Spurlock’s Where in the world is Osama Bin Laden? (WOBL) a while back, so the recollections may be a bit hazy. Spurlock, if you didn’t already know, is most famous for his documentary Super Size Me, which I’d already seen and liked. So, when I saw the book I thought I’d give it a chance.

WOBL is Spurlock’s attempt to track down the world’s most wanted terrorist, one Osama Bin Laden. Spurlock had to undergo special training, which he documents in the book, and also had to brush up on his knowledge about the Middle East and terrorism in general. On the face of it, this would be a fascinating book to read and parts of the book are fascinating. However, as a whole the book was disappointing.

I think that part of the reason is that while some stuff works on camera it doesn’t work as well on paper. Also, while reading certain parts of the book I thought to myself, I already know about this. Maybe the book was aimed at a different demographic. All this is stuff that you can overlook. I think what I was most disappointed about was that there was precious little about Osama or about al Qaeda that I didn’t already know from reading articles and watching reports on TV.

Going to investigate Osama or al Qaeda is a dangerous task and Spurlock deserves credit for his attempt. However, the book isn’t up to the mark so that’s little consolation for its readers.

Your thoughts?

