Into the Wild

Jon Krakauer’s book Into the Wild is a terrific read. I read it a few weeks after I saw the movie (link goes to my review) and I enjoyed it immensely. I think watching the movie actually enabled me to enjoy the book more.

Slight spoiler alert

Krakauer first wrote an article on McCandless for Outside magazine and then expanded that article into the book. One of the things he addresses in the book is the perception that McCandless didn’t know what he was up against and about allegations that he was unprepared, etc. Krakauer even visits the place where McCandless lived, goes to the bus, etc. and provides a gripping recreation of McCandless’ travels.

Krakauer talks to the various people that McCandless met on his travels and the family, and writes such a compelling story that it is difficult to put the book down. For me, the book really showcases Krakauer’s journalistic skills: in his depth of research and in his writing.

I think I’ve gushed enough about the book that you’ll probably read it and wonder if I’m from Pluto, so I’ll stop now. But, read the book.

Your thoughts?

